In Nashville, Jason Aldean veers from the script by inviting Morgan Wallen and Miranda Lambert on stage.

Nashville’s Rock N’ Roll Cowboy Tour stop with Jason Aldean was set apart from the rest of his autumn tour dates by the presence of guest artists Morgan Wallen and Miranda Lambert, as well as a veiled allusion to a recent country family fight.

The two country superstars provided the night’s high-octane performance at Bridgestone Arena with a memorable midpoint. Even as he wound down to wrap out the 23-song set, Aldean’s energy and passion for this local crowd never flagged. Closing the evening with “Hicktown,” his breakthrough single from 2005, was a fitting way to end his performance.

Jason Aldean Goes Off Script for Nashville Tour Stop


From the very beginning, Jason Aldean made it plain that he intended for his fans to feel the full force of his hefty country-rock choruses and ballads right in the molars. Even if familiarity breeds contempt, his laid-back style is refreshing. Oftentimes, popular performers are always on the lookout for fresh takes on fan favorites. Typically, acoustic performances consist of many songs, or the band may play a medley of some of their biggest hits (and maybe one or two covers) for a really memorable set.

For the most part of Friday night, there was none of that (Oct. 14). Instead, the performer shot repeatedly toward the middle of a big target. Jason Aldean’s performance style in 2022 is anti-nonsense, not simply no-nonsense.

Below is his whole set list, which, with three notable deviations, is consistent with what he has performed on this tour. As the evening’s first celebrity visitor, Lambert performed “Drowns the Whiskey” with him without a rehearsal. Featuring some of Aldean’s finest country lyrics and showcasing his collaborator’s most underappreciated talent—their harmonies—this song was a great fit for this songwriter’s hometown.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Taste of Country (@tasteofcountry)

After delivering an expert rendition of “The Flyover States” (Aldean’s band members are seasoned veterans), Jason Aldean joked that he almost called his pals Luke Bryan (cheers), Kane Brown (cheers), Kenny Chesney (cheers), and Maren Morris (cheers) (loud boos). Making a crass allusion to the nasty exchanges between her and his wife Brittany Aldean was easy meat for his audience and got them even more pumped up for what was to come.

Parole for a Charles Manson cult member is rejected by California’s governor.

To be fair, Jason Aldean stepped back to allow the younger hitmaker, Wallen, to do most of the work on stage during their performance of “Whiskey Glasses,” rather than a true duet. Then, in what was perhaps the night’s most memorable moment, the 45-year-old singer reminded the audience that Wallen had written a hit song for him before he was famous. This was followed by a rendition of “You Make It Easy” that was unlike anything else ever heard.

The concert began with performances by openers John Morgan and Chase Rice, the latter of whom was given the opportunity to play a couple of songs that hint at a new musical direction. As an opener, he performed an acoustic-ish rendition of his most well-known co-write, “Cruise,” and said that the album he’ll be releasing soon is completely organic. Rice’s skill as a performer rivals that of any headliner at Bridgestone Arena. Six more hits, and maybe he’ll have a chance to show them.

Until the 29th of October in Wichita, Kansas, Jason Aldean will be performing on his Rock N’ Roll Cowboy Tour.


Jason Aldean’s Nashville Rock N’ Roll Cowboy Tour Stop Set List:

1. “When the Lights Come On”
2. “Girl Like You”
3. “Amarillo Sky”
4. “Trouble With a Heartbreak”
5. “Crazy Town”
6. “Rearview Town”
7. “Big Green Tractor
8. “That’s What Tequila Does”
9. “Take a Little Ride”
10. “Got What I Got”
11. “When She Says, Baby”
12. “The Truth” (With John Morgan)
13. “Whiskey Drowns the Memory” (With Miranda Lambert)
14. “The Flyover States”
15. “Whiskey Glasses” (With Morgan Wallen)
16. “You Make It Easy” (With Morgan Wallen)
17. “If I Didn’t Love You” (Carrie Underwood on Video Screen)
18. “Tattoos on This Town
19. “We Back”
20. “Dirt Road Anthem”
21. “My Kinda Party”
22. “She’s Country”
23. “Hicktown”